Politics: Georgia Amendment 4

To be honest, this was going to be a super-short post of “sure why not” until I sat down to read over the amendment a little closer.

Dedicates revenue from existing taxes on fireworks to trauma care, fire services, and public safety.

Much like Amendment 2, this amendment is doing something that sounds great. Woot – we’re paying for trauma care, fire services AND public safety?

Except wait. “Existing taxes”?  Like, existing sales/import taxes?  Stuff that is already being used for government services since we legalized the sale of fireworks? So… what exactly is that money paying for now?

I don’t know. I’ll be the first to say that government expenses makes my head hurt. I can manage my own budget. My husband and I are working through our joint budget… I can’t even remotely process the budget at the state level. My brain does not grok numbers that well.

Best case scenario, we are maintaining status quo.  We are securing funds for these services with something like a guarantee.

Worst case scenarios, we are stealing fund from other important functions and/or denying necessary funding to trauma care, fire services, and public safety.

I… don’t know that I want to support this. I would rather we RAISE the tax on fireworks (seriously, like a penny-tax on them would stop ANYONE who is buying $100s of dollars of fireworks already… hell, wouldn’t even stop the $5 sparklers buyers…). This is not an essential good by any means – fireworks are just about the definition of “luxury good” in my world. There is NO time you need them  (not even 4th of July… there are a bazillion and four counties that put on shows better than what we can buy anyway).

So…. yeah looks like I’m going to vote “no” on all four amendments.

