Review: Wonder Woman

I am not going to promise not to write spoilers. I’m going to try, but there may be things in this review that are not in the trailer and “spoil” the movie for you.

Fair enough warning?

I loved this movie. It wasn’t “perfect” but it was close.  I will gladly go see it again in theaters to get the big surround sound and see the action on the big screen. Hell, I might even see it on IMAX. (No, I don’t tend to like 3D movies, more often then not I get a headache from watching them).

I could nitpick about some of the pacing, but honestly – as origin stories go – it wasn’t terrible pacing. I think it helps they didn’t have to set Diana up as a some “lost soul” who needs to turn her life around because she is an egotistical asshole.  They are a little heavy-handed on the “oh no, don’t tell her the secret that could save her life” trope – which is one I tend to detest (how can you say you love someone and deny them a VITAL tool?).

But above and beyond the nit-picking – it was a GOOD movie. And I cried through like half of it.

Not because it was sad. Because I was finally seeing myself in a hero. We got close with Hermione (can we all agree she is the one who carried Harry to “success” already?).  I think it’s what many other authors/movies have attempted (Hunger Games got pretty close IMO) – a female lead who kicks ass. A female who others females can look up to.

The scene that really sells it for me is child-Diana – standing with delight and watching the Amazon warriors and imitating them. I can’t wait to see little girls doing this in real life – imitating their hero who looks like them.

I wish I could give a perfect example to my male friends why this is so emotional – but how do I explain to them who have always had these heroic images they can mimic? How can I help them understand what it means that after 30 years, I have finally seen a woman who I would like to emulate on the big screen? A woman who doesn’t bow to the men around her, who inspires them. A woman who might love, but the romantic relationship is secondary to her love of ALL mankind – and her service to them. She has her life and he might join her, but she will not merely follow him.

Superman was made before I was born – before my older brother was born. He literally was born into a world where he could see a hero on “the big screen” who looked like him – and attempts like Elecktra and Catwoman don’t exactly count either because they aren’t really heroes – they are anti-heroes.

I wanted to see this movie on opening weekend in the hopes to tell Hollywood we need more female directors & female leads – they bring diversity to the art. Which inevitably elevates the entire art, challenges norms and explores different voices. We need more female superheroes. We need more female leads in film. We need more female directors given the budget commensurate with their skills. I want my daughters to see woman in film they can emulate – and they will. They will be born into a world where there is at least one woman on the big screen they can mimic. I’m kind of jealous of them.

 

