Writing: Camp NaNoWriMo

I won! I won Camp NaNoWriMo for July 2017.  Yay!

My Goal was 30,000 words in 31 days.  This is LESS than 1,000 words a day. I made it with 80 words to spare (I clocked in July 31st at 9:30pm with 30,089 words)

Whew. I had a few really good days – mostly Saturday mornings when my husband was still in bed, I could put on headphones and just jam out like 5k words.  but I had more than one day of 0 words.

The problem it only partially procrastination. It has more to do with life.  And finding the balance between being a “productive member of society” and an “artist.”  It’s a VERY difficult balance.

I love my job. I love that it challenges me and pushes me and exhausts me. I love that I get to help people and see them flourish. I love when people tell me “thank you” for documentation.  I love coming up with creative solutions to complex problems and I LOVE when I manage to get the political elements in place to see a plan succeed.

I hate how I come home exhausted. And then I have to figure out dinner. And then I have to have energy and motivation to cook. And then I want to have friends. (You know, like a social life) And then I really do want to spend time with my husband (it’s like I love him or something…).

I really wish I could be one of those boundless energy people who gets home from a full-time job AND has the energy to write.  There are ton of examples of it from Agatha Christie to Stephen King to Kurt Vonnegut.  They managed, but I definitely struggle.

This is exactly why I do Camp NaNoWriMo and NaNoWriMo (though I don’t know when I’ll be able to do 50k in a month again – I have!).  At least these months, I push myself. I see the goal and I push to do it.

Challenging myself even more this month, I used Scrivener.  I’ve had it for a year or two, but they finally added the #1 feature I needed (“needed”) – linking to DropBox. Well, what I really wanted to independent sync/backup.  (1) I have had too many harddrives fail on me to ever trust my novels to ever trust ONE location (yes, paranoid) and (2) allows me to work both on my pc and my laptop.

So I sit in bed on July 31st before my bedtime, clicking away at the keyboard on my laptop. while dinner was cooking I had everything open/up on my pc. I probably only got 300 words while cooking – but it was 300 words I didn’t have to fight through afterwards! It still doesn’t have the #1 feature I WANT – I want an app so bad I can taste it.  I want to sync to dropbox on my tablet and be able to write online.

I’ve looked at online options before.  http://novlr.org/ looks interesting, but I haven’t quite worked myself up to the point of wanting to pay for it. And a week’s trial?  That will have to wait until I have a staycation and can really dig my toes into it. https://www.truenovelist.com/ is in the same boat – next time I have a staycation.

I tried http://www.wordslingr.com/ and I did like it, although it needed a few things to make me 100% happy.  I saw an email that the creator (a single dude who probably also has a job to support himself!) did some updates, so I may log back in and check it out. I like Scrivener – but I want to be able to work on my tablet so I can write during lunch.

Is so much to be able to buy my cake AND eat it?

